Counted Worthy Book Review

  • Star Rating: 4.5 of 5
  • Kids: No, but it depends on the maturity of the child. I do recommend it for teens, but be aware that there are some heavy death themes.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes.

Part I:  for y’all who have yet to read it

I decided to read Counted Worthy by Leah E. Good because I saw on therebelution.com where Brett Harris, co-author of Do Hard Things, recommended it. Do Hard Things changed my perspective on the rest of my teenage years, and my life as a whole.  Those of you who have read it can see the Harris brothers’ ideas all over my blog.  It’s like a Thomas Jefferson/John Locke relationship. I’m Jefferson and the Harris brothers are Locke: they inspired a lot of my thinking.

Counted Worthy is a great book.  I think it’s a good read for anybody, but especially Christian teens.  This isn’t an A-B-Cs of the gospel presentation; its primary audience is young people of the church.  It’s kind of like the film War Room.  While anyone could get something out of it, its primary audience is the church (Priscilla Shirer commanding the enemy’s presence out of her home isn’t what we typically jump onto unbelievers).

Those who are extra-sensitive need to be aware that it is an emotional story.  I didn’t cry because I’m not an emotional gal, but had I been, I would’ve caused a flood.  Leah Good does a FANTASTIC job with character developments and character arcs, which means that the intense emotions Heather (the main character) feels, feel real to the reader.

I’ve found that much of young adult literature written today isn’t wholesome or helpful.  It seems that many authors think that if the story is exciting or romantic, no matter  what the story line is, it’s good enough for teens to read.  Leah Good has written a solid book for teens.  It is exciting, but it also builds us up for our lives when we’re not reading.  Support quality Christian literature by reading Counted Worthy.

Part II: Some deeper analyzations (there will be spoilers)

Heather’s character was deep, consistent, and fairly realistic.  Inconsistent characters are my biggest pet peeve when reading books, and knowing that Good was a young author, I was extra critical.  She did a phenomenal job.  Heather’s arc about coming to peace with her mom’s death was executed excellently.  Heather’s arc about her place in society was also written fantastically, but it was slightly unfinished.

Counted Worthy doesn’t need a sequel, but the door was left WIDE open for one.  I saw this jewel on the Rebelution’s site:

Screenshot (18)

Whoo hoo!  That’s exciting!  I’m already looking forward to reading it!

Back to a review on what’s currently published:

Bryce was another well-written character.  We, the as the readers with Heather, were able to see both sides of him, yet I feel like there’s more I could learn!  His consistent mannerisms and quirks added to his loveable-ness.

I appreciated Heather and Bryce’s relationship.  It’s unrealistic to have two teenagers of opposite genders to have a close friendship without affection.  On the other hand, I don’t want to read a mushy “love” story.  Leah Good did an excellent job of showing the “affections” (for lack of a better word) Heather had for Bryce (and vice-versa) without diving into the dating game or drama.

Miss Lucy was yet another character who really showed Good’s skill at character creating.  The supporting cast were all well-crafted.  They blended together to represent the church, the government, or the slums, but they were also individuals with individual personalities.

I was confused for a while at the setting of the book.  Good did a great job of not being too descriptive and letting the story unfold slowly, but I needed a little more toward the beginning.  The opening scene of book-sorting sufficed for a little while, so I really shouldn’t complain.

Heather’s dad’s death was traumatic.  Part of me wanted to say that Good shouldn’t have gone that route, but upon further consideration, I realized that it was essential.  We, as the readers, lived what the population saw on television that started the next war.  We lived the completion of Heather’s character arc.  Then afterward, Good didn’t dwell in that devastation.  She picked back up two days later and went straight to hope.

Counted Worthy Book Review @ Unreached by the Frost

Counted Worthy on Amazon graphic and other Counted Worthy graphics from http://therebelution.com/blog/2014/11/introducing-counted-worthy-a-novel-by-leah-good/#.VjaFoPmrTIX

Leave a Reply

