Prince of Egypt Movie Review

  • Star Rating: 5 of 5
  • Kids: Yes, but be prepared for the slavery and angel of death scenes
  • Do I recommend it? YES YES YES!

The Prince of Egypt is one of the best animated musicals ever made.

Ever.

I’m pretty skeptical of any non-Disney film, especially DreamWorks-produced films, especially ones made before I was old enough to be skeptical.  But Prince of Egypt blows me away, even more so the more I watch it.

The opening musical number with the people crying out “deliver us”?  Oh!  So good!  I mean, NOT good that a nation is crying out, but good in telling the story via song.

If you can’t tell already, I like stories.  I really like stories sung.  “Through Heaven’s Eyes” and “When You Believe” are my other favorites.

Seriously, y’all.  The last time I watched this, my sisters and I were snuggled up all comfy on our individual couch spaces.  But when Tzipporah and Miriam transition the sorrow to the joy of freedom in “When You Believe”, I just HAD to stand up.  Too many butterflies were flying inside me.  My sister Ana soon joined me.  It was so beautiful, intense… a story told well.  Here’s a good article on the writing of “When You Believe”: When You Believe. This article also explains what the kids sing during their chorus (so cool!)

Prince of Egypt is based off of the true Moses story, obviously.  I mean, it states so at the beginning of the movie… for the most part.

Yes, historical and artistic license has been taken, but I agree with that the film retains the essence of the story: God delivered His people from slavery.

The relationships developed in Moses’s 40 years as the Prince of Egypt aren’t told in Exodus.  It causes me to think when I watch the movie.  I’m reminded that Moses was a real person, he’s not just this bearded face on a Sunday School classroom wall.

Patterns of Evidence: Exodus, a documentary I found on Netflix, and Unwrapping the Pharaohs, a book by John Ashton and David Down, taught me a lot about Egyptian archaeology.  They both get a little too technical for me, but I still found the matching of Biblical and Egyptian timelines interesting.  Contrary to popular belief, more recent evidence has pointed to the fact that Ramses was probably NOT the pharaoh who Moses and Aaron dealt with.  I still enjoy watching Ramses’s character in Prince of Egypt.  This is just some random knowledge I’ve picked up. 🙂

I go back and forth on the burning bush scene.  Here I’ll write about the two things I don’t change my mind about.  One is about Moses taking off his sandal because he’s on holy ground. It’s so cool!  “Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.” (Exodus 3:5)  The second is about when God proclaims who He is.  It’s what really happened!  SO cool!  God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you’.” (Exodus 3:14)

The angel of death scene is an interesting take.  But hey, it lines up with the (limited) information Scripture gives.  Exodus doesn’t say what the angel looked like, but it says what happened.  The Israelites did put blood on their doors and every Egyptian firstborn died.  The movie portrayed both.

The “Playing with the Big Boys” sequence was also rather scary.  The Egyptian priests dealt with some scary stuff.  But the Egyptian magicians did the same things by their secret arts, and Pharaoh’s heart became hard; he would not listen to Moses and Aaron, just as the Lord had said. (Exodus 7:22)  And just as it was portrayed in the movie, our God is bigger.

There y’all have it, a bunch of random Prince of Egypt thoughts.  Overall, one of the best musicals in the history of musicals.   Remember, don’t just take this movie for granted.  Go read where the story came from.  Read about its context.

Prince of Egypt @ Unreached by the Frost

AWESOME movie poster!  SO. COOL.  “The Time Is Now.”  AAAAAAAH!  Too. Awesome. For. My. Limited. Vocabulary!!!!

Screenshots photo cred:
Disclaimer: https://thimblerigsark.wordpress.com/2014/02/
Deliver Us: http://www.cornel1801.com/animated/Prince-of-Egypt-1998/Deliver-Us/videosong.html
When You Believe: http://kingofthewilderwest.tumblr.com/post/105891372557/the-music-of-when-you-believe
Playing with the Big Boys: http://imageck.com/121834285-the-prince-of-egypt-playing-with-big-boys-now.html
Poster: http://www.impawards.com/1998/prince_of_egypt_ver2_xlg.html

Leave a Reply

