Hey you, my fellow teenager:  you are in a phase of life you shan’t be at again.  You have the body and thinking abilities of an adult, but without all of the responsibilities.  Everything your parents and community planted into you throughout your childhood is beginning to bloom.  The decisions you are making/about to make will change the rest of your life.

Are you living these years with the Lord?

I’m not talking about going to church every Sunday, or saying the right prayers with your family.  The above question does not refer to religious practices.

Chances are, you have been raised in the church.  You accepted “Jesus into your heart” when you were seven.  You know John 3:16 better than your favorite pop song.  You may have even heard before that your parents’ religion isn’t yours.

If you haven’t heard it before, now you have.  And you know it’s true.  You decide your relationship with God.  Your parents, friends, pastor, etc. aren’t the ones who make you close to the Lord.

Actions don’t make you close to God either.  Well, not exactly.  Actions alone do nothing.  Know that a person is not justified by the works of the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. (Galatians 2:16a) For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. (Ephesians 2:8-9)  Just “going through the motions” is easy.  It’s easy to act like a Christian in today’s America without being legit.

Fight against it, fight against the lure to not be active in your faith.  Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses. (1 Timothy 6:12)

Don’t just develop a head full of Bible facts and knowledge.  That’s not faith. Develop a relationship with the Maker of the universe.

You know how to make friends.  You communicate and spend time with them.  It’s the same concept for being friends with the King of Kings.

It’s sometimes hard to think that out of the billions of people in the world, God would want you to be His friend, not just a servant. But it’s true!  Jesus said, “You are my friends if you do what I command.  I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.  You did not choose me, but I chose you“. (John 15:14-16a)

Do it.  Be friends with the Wonderful Counselor.  Get into the Bible (His love letter to us) everyday.  Talk to Him everyday.  And listen (this part is often forgotten) everyday.

You’re too busy?  Don’t have time to talk with your Creator everyday?

Fact:  You do.  It’s just a matter of how you prioritize things.  If you have time to sit and read through this entire article, you have time to give to a relationship with God.

There was a time (not too long ago actually) (like three months ago) that I struggled with making time for God.  I’ve been there.  Now I’m at the point where I pull out my Bible first thing in the morning.  My alone time with the King is so important to me (you can read a little more about it here: My Refuge).

Rebel against those thoughts that God is only this big being in the sky waiting for you to obey Him.  He is so much more than that, so much more than we could ever comprehend even if we read the Bible everyday for a hundred years.  He wants to be your friend.

Who am I that You are mindful of me?
That You hear me
When I call?
Is it true that You are thinking of me?
How You love me,
It’s amazing!
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
He calls me friend

On Being Friend with God - Unreached by the Frost

Leave a Reply

